

2023 AEJMC First Amendment Award

Nominations are due February 2023.

The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) is seeking nominations for the AEJMC First Amendment Award.

The AEJMC First Amendment Award recognizes individuals or organizations who demonstrate a strong commitment to freedom of the press and who practice or support courageous journalism. Created in 2006, the award is presented by the Professional Freedom & Responsibility Committee.

Previous recipients of the AEJMC First Amendment Award winners are: Steven Waldman of Report for America (2022); Omar Jimenez of CNN (2021); Shane Bauer of Mother Jones (2020); Nikole Hannah-Jones of the New York Times Magazine (2019); Ronan Farrow of the New Yorker and Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey of the New York Times (2018); The Pulitzer Prizes (2017); Reporters Without Borders (2016); Floyd Abrams (2015); Joel Simon of the Committee to Protect Journalists (2014); the First Amendment Center (2013); Carole Simpson (2012); Michael Kirk of Frontline (2011); Nat Hentoff (2010); Seymour Hersh of the New Yorker (2009); Clarence Page of the Chicago Tribune (2008); Helen Thomas of UPI and Hearst (2007); and Molly Ivins (2006).

Nominations require only the following:

- The name and affiliation of the nominee
- A supporting statement of no more than 200 words explaining why the person or organization deserves consideration for this award

(Note that AEJMC members are not eligible to receive this award).

To receive the award, the nominee must be available to attend the AEJMC national conference and speak about the work being recognized.

Nominations are due **on or before 5 p.m. PST, February 17, 2023** to Jason Shepard, California State University, Fullerton, at <u>ishepard@fullerton.edu</u>. Please address any questions to Shepard.

The PF&R Committee will select the recipient, and the award will be presented at a session of the 2023 Annual Conference.