

Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Early-Career Woman Scholar Award

Nominations are due May 1, 2023.

Nominations are now accepted for the 2023 Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Award honoring a woman-identifying early-career scholar who demonstrates outstanding research and potential for future scholarship.

Sponsored by The Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University and the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women, this recognition is designed to honor early-career women faculty researchers and encourage them as they pursue their research agendas in the academy.

An early-career faculty member is defined as a scholar who has the Ph.D., but does NOT have tenure, and is preferably on a tenure-track, but might be considered a collegiate-level instructor/lecturer. Nominees must be members of AEJMC.

To nominate a scholar, please send:

- a letter outlining qualifications
- · a one-page summary of the applicant's research agenda
- a curriculum vita

We welcome nominations for scholars from various cultural backgrounds and institutions, including international scholars. We realize that outstanding scholarship can manifest itself differently from scholar to scholar, so we encourage the nomination letters and research statements to be explicit about highlighting the candidates' unique strengths. Both quantity and quality will be taken into account. Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged.

The winner will be chosen by a panel of scholars and honored with a check for \$250 and a plaque in August 2023 at the AEJMC conference in Washington D.C. Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver, dean emeritus and professor at Florida International University's School of Journalism and Mass Communication, will present the award.

Please submit all application materials with the name of the award in the subject line to AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women Secretary Erin Whiteside: <u>ewhites2@utk.edu</u>

The deadline for applications is May 1, 2023, at midnight EDT.

Nomination letters and packets for the Deutschmann Award should be submitted electronically in a single PDF file to Melissa Tully, <u>melissa-tully@uiowa.edu</u>. Please direct any questions to Tully.