

Call for Nominations 2023 Journalism Teacher of the Year Award

Sponsored by the Scripps Howard Fund and AEJMC

(Please note: The criteria for nominees for the Scripps Howard Fund Journalism Teacher of the Year Award have been revised to better reflect the mission of its sponsor, the Scripps Howard Fund.)

PRIZE: \$10,000 and a distinctive trophy

ELIGIBILITY:

Full-time faculty member teaching journalism who, over a period of years, has consistently demonstrated an environment of excellence by ongoing contributions to the improvement of student learning. Open to nominees who teach students how to gather, assess, create, and present news, information and commentary via print and electronic media. Nominees may be from accredited or non-accredited schools, but must consistently teach primarily journalism courses.

CRITERIA:

The judges will consider the following criteria when evaluating nominees:

- On-going industry engagement inside and outside the classroom;
- Utilization of experiential learning to provide students opportunities to get out of the classroom and into "real world" settings;
- Innovative teaching practices;
- Influences on curriculum;
- Mentoring and advising students in matters of both career and curriculum;
- Mentoring faculty with regard to instruction;
- Leadership in educational activities in department, school, university and/or academy.

HOW TO NOMINATE:

- **1.** The unit head **must** submit the nomination from the program. **Only one nominee from each school is allowed.** The selection process is at the school's discretion.
- **2.** A nomination consists of a **two-page letter by the unit head** that provides specific examples of the nominee's merit based upon the criteria above, and a **full curriculum vitae** of the nominee.

DEADLINE: Submissions must be received electronically by 5 p.m. Eastern on Oct. 15, 2023. Submit materials in a single PDF via email to Lillian Coleman at lillian@aejmc.org. Type "2023 SHF Teacher of the Year Nomination" in the subject line. Questions may be directed to Lillian Coleman at lillian@aejmc.org.